sponsored links

The 5 finalist designs (2 museums) for the 2017 Mies van der Rohe Awards

By FEDERICA LUSIARDI - February 15, 2017

Kannikegården Ribe Denmark Lundgaard & Tranberg Architects2

The Mies van der Rohe Foundation in Barcelona has announced the 5 finalists of the renowned European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.

The five designs, selected by a jury composed by Stephen Bates, Gonçalo Byrne, Peter Cachola Schmal, Pelin Derviş, Dominique Jakob, Juulia Kauste and Małgorzata Omilanowska, are:

Kannikegården in Ribe, Denmark – Lundgaard & Tranberg Architects 
The brick clad volume hovers above the city floor to expose an open ground floor with a 1000-year-old brick ruin integrated within.


Above and cover image: Lundgaard & Tranberg Architects, Kannikegården, Denmark.
© Photo Anders Sune Berg

Ely Court in London, UK – Alison Brooks Architects.
Ely Court is a 44 dwelling residential development within the South Kilburn Estate Regeneration Masterplan in the London Borough of Brent.

Alison Brooks Architects South Kilburn Estate photographed by Pa

Alison Brooks Architects, Ely Court, UK. © Photo Paul Riddle

deFlat Kleinburg , Amsterdam, The Netherlands – NL Architects
De Flat is an innovative renovation of one of the biggest apartment buildings in the NL called Kleiburg, a bend slab, 400-meter-long and 10 + 1 story high. with 500 apartments.

the flat-NL architects

NL architects, deFlat Kleinburg, Amsterdam.© Photo Stijn Spoelstra

The Rivesaltes Memorial MuseumRudy Ricciotti
Designed by architect Rudy Ricciotti and agency Passelac & Roques, it is a 240-meter-long monolith buried in the ground, built in the site of a former military and internment camp in southern France which houses a memorial dedicated to a 70-year-long history of forced displacement of populations.



Rudy Ricciotti / Passelac & Roques, Rivesaltes Memorial Museum, France.
© Photo: Kevin Dolmaire

Katyn Museum, Warszava, Poland – BBGK Arkitekci
Katyn Museum commemorates a painful episode of Polish history which took place during the World War II when over a twenty thousands of Polish military officers and state officials were brutally murdered by the Soviet Secret Police.

Katyn Museum WarszawaBBGK Architekci-1

Katyn Museum WarszawaBBGK Architekci-2

BBGK Arkitekci, Katyn Museum, Poland. © Photo JuliuszSokołowski

The Jury will visit the 5 works in April. The Prize Winner and the Emerging
Architect Winner will be announced in Brussels on May 16.

The Award Ceremony will take place on 26 May 2017 at the Mies van der
Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

More in Barcelona



sponsored links

This site uses cookies and collects private data to provide services and personalised advertising. To learn more or refuse your consent to cookies see our cookie policy. By clicking on the "Accept" button or scrolling this page you agree to our use of cookies and personal data, You can withdraw from your consent at any time by writing at info@inexhibit.com more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.