sponsored links

Architecture – the list of 383 works competing for the EU Mies Award 2019 has been announced

mappa-europa-con foto

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the list of 383 works competing for the 2019 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.

The 383 works draw the present picture of contemporary architecture in Europe. After the challenges of Housing and Heritage in Europe highlighted by the 2017 Jury and Winners and the exciting debates that have taken place during these two years, the new cycle of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award will reflect on the next challenges of architecture, which architects, clients, policymakers, and other professionals are faced with.
383 works from 238 cities in 38 countries have been nominated by 76 independent experts, the national architecture associations and the Prize Advisory Committee.
Three new countries were invited to participate in the Prize, after joining the EC Creative Europe programme: Armenia, Kosovo, and Tunisia.

mappa-europa-con progetti-per-paese

Map of the location of the 383 works in 238 places. 

Buildings related to culture continue forming the biggest group of works with 15% of the total (4% less than in 2017), followed by mixed-use buildings with 14% (2,5% more than in 2017). These two groups are followed by collective and single housing and education facilities, which represent 10% each.
The 40 shortlisted works will be announced on January 16 and the 5 Finalists on February 13. The winners will be announced in mid-April. The process will culminate with the EU Mies Award Day on May 7 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

Here are the nominees divided by country:









More info:  https://www.miesarch.com/  |   https://miesbcn.com/


sponsored links

More in Barcelona



copyright Inexhibit 2020 - ISSN: 2283-5474